Skip to Main Content
 

kalistamit1 did NOT create this site

Written by JG   
Friday, 15 January 2010 23:51

It's unfortunate that I have to write this, but apparently there's nothing left to do but leave this message on my site as a disclaimer to anyone who might come here from the GetAFreelancer.com website.

I received a Google Alert on Dec. 13th, 2009 with my website url in it. Checking the site listed, I found it was from a freelancer listed on the GetAFreelancer.com website.

Incredibly, a person with the user name "kalistamit1" from Delhi, India is claiming that he built this site. Really? Check this link and look under "Joomla Sites". You'll see this very site listed:

https://www.getafreelancer.com/users/1300468.html

Now please excuse my language, but what kind of fucking gall does it take to claim someone else's work as your own. What kind of a person would do this?

It really doesn't make any sense at all. As this person is bidding on jobs, they will no doubt have to actually complete a job at some point, right? So they must have some skills.

Especially since he is claiming to have every web skill-set under the sun. If you're coming from "kalistamit1's" profile, I'd be very wary of hiring this person. No doubt they did not create the vast majority of the sites listed on that page, Joomla or otherwise.

Also, let's talk about the GetAFreelancer.com website itself. I registered there on that same day, Dec. 13th, 2009. I used their "Report Violation" button in an attempt to get my site removed from the site. Well, no doubt you can see it's still there, hence the need for this article.

Obviously, at best, GetAFreelancer.com is indifferent to unscrupulous users of its website. At worst, they must somehow benefit or otherwise promote this behavior.

I never received ANY sort of acknowledgement or follow-up regarding my Reporting of the clear Violation that has happened. In the one month since I discovered this, all I ever got was an "Account created successfully" registration email from them. Yes, I had to create an account to Report the Violation. No doubt they got what they wanted, ballooning their accounts so they look viable in the stats.

This is completely ridiculous. I can't believe I have to do this, but I guess I have to actually say that I, John Garrett, am the sole developer and operator of this website, and always have been.

I certainly do not need to outsource any Joomla work to anyone, especially a dishonest developer from the other side of the world.

So to bottom-line this - kalistamit1, you are a liar, and based on your latest feedback visible on the site, you are a thief as well:

https://www.getafreelancer.com/users/feedback_1300468.html

I guess I should be flattered that you found my site good enough to pretend to have developed it. I just hope this might actually help someone avoid making the mistake of hiring you in the future.


( 0 Votes )


Add this page to your favorite Social Bookmarking websites
Digg! Reddit Del.icio.us Facebook StumbleUpon MySpace Twitter LinkedIn Joomla Free PHP
 

Comments

Please login to post comments or replies.